Halloween Mantel

September 29, 2011 at 6:41 am 2 comments

The kids have been requesting scary decorations for the house, so I started with the mantel. I decorated it while they were sleeping. They were so excited when they woke up!

Let me start by saying that The Dollar Tree is a great place for inexpensive finds when decorating for Halloween!

To recreate this mantel you’ll need:

Glass jars, creepy crawlys, sticks, skulls and Spanish moss.

I had these glass cylindrical vases that I filled parfait style with moss and mini skulls I scored with a coupon at Michaels. Then, I strategically placed some spiders.

These great rats are from the dollar store. Oh, and they squeak!

Ricardo got some great whiskey in this bottle, I got the bottle! I used a candle and dripped some wax on the ledge and hot glued a spider to the outside.

Eerie sign and crows are both from the dollar store. Sticks are from my yard!

I got these bat adhesives from Joann’s on clearance last year.

This picture is from the dollar store…

…see how it changes, so cool!

I love how the spiders appear to be crawling out of the jar! It was just a leftover spaghetti sauce jar and I sprayed the lid black.

To attach the spiders to the mantel, I used a hot glue gun and a prayer. To try and prevent the glue from peeling off the paint, I placed a bead of hot glue on each spider and let it cool until it was almost dry. Then I stuck it on. Hopefully they come off cleanly!!

Larger containers with skulls and spiders.

Entry filed under: Holidays, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Remember Me? Message Center

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Colleen Wold  |  September 29, 2011 at 9:13 am

    This looks great, Olivia! You have inspired me…but first I must find my halloween decor! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole Kirker  |  September 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Hi Olivia, I just checked out your blog! I love your Halloween decorations! You are so creative. I bet the kids loved it! :) Hope you guys are doing well

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

