Happy New Year!

January 2, 2008 at 5:10 pm 3 comments

I know its the 2nd, please forgive me.

2007 was definitely a crazy year for us. What? No baby? God definitely knows what he’s doing.

Ricardo started off the year with a job search that landed us back in St. Louis.

My parents separated after 30 years.

Ricardo moved to St. Louis for 2 months and left me in Michigan to fend for myself and 3 kids. What doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger. The day after he left, the basement filled up with 3 inches of water.

God was watching over us in March when the day we found a house in St. Louis, an offer was made on our house in GR.

April was a month full of mixed emotions. I left my best friend in Michigan to move closer to family in St. Louis.

May left me lonely wishing people would call me for playdates. It also left me wishing for less rain.

June made me grateful for suburbia. The kids discovered their bikes and never looked back.

July brought swimming lessons, and it also brought myself and Nathan a good friend who lives in the neighborhood.

August took us to see Day Out with Thomas in Chicago. Nathan refers to it as heaven. j/k. It also had me yearning for a Michigan summer. I’ve never seen so many days over 100 degrees.

September took us to California to visit my mother in law and Disneyland. Nathan’s favorite destination was the La Brea Tarpits.
Don’t be mistaken its not a dinosaur museum. God forbid a 4 year old would say that in front of a bunch of paleontology geeks.

October brought a huge blow with the death of my grandpa. He was the strongest man I ever knew, even in death. He eventually went 10 days without water or food. I hope my sons grow up to be just like him. Who knew a plumber could end up as a millionaire.

November brought the first major holiday with separated parents. It also brought a huge blow to Ricardo’s ego. It sucks to find out that you’re not part of the “good ole boys club.”

December was a pretty busy month of course. We had a wonderful Christmas. The month ended with a visit from the greatest Michiginians ever. Although I was sad to see them go, I think my waistline and liver are thankful it will be a couple months before we see them again.

What’s in store for 2008?

I can’t predict the future, but I will celebrate my first 29th birthday. I will be the mother of a 5 year old. That makes me feel older than being a year away from the big “2nd 29th birthday.”

Will Ricardo attend Pharmacy school?

Will Nathan excel at Kindergarten?

Will I be able to make a difference?

Will Piper Ann cut me some slack? (I love her dearly, and she does some really funny/cute things)

Will Oliver not ever grow up and stay the same forever? (I doubt it)

Stay tuned!

Entry filed under: Holidays. Tags: , , , .

Ridiculous Check out my meez

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bigbinder  |  January 2, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Holy crap, when you lay it out like that you really did have quite a year, didn’t you?!!
    You know, Ferris has a very good pharmacy school. And while Big Rapids is not much to write home (or away) about, at least you would be closer than you are now… to me I mean of course.

    Reply
  • 2. diehl99  |  January 2, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I know moving here had to bite, with leaving everyone you know and love, but we’re so glad to have you here!

    Eeeek! Being the mother of a kindergartener freaks me out.

    Is Ricardo really thinking about pharmacy school?

    Reply
  • 3. lookmomlook  |  January 3, 2008 at 12:28 am

    I also have a consistent urge to go to pharmacy school. If you moved back to Mich., we could be study buddies. And I promise, that’s all we would do….really (if I did what I did with my college “study buddies”, that would be really really wierd). Hope that you have a GREAT year!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



