Yesterday, Continued

January 11, 2008 at 9:43 pm 6 comments

We’ll just say today is a continuation of yesterday instead of saying that this is bad day number 2.

Last night before I went to bed I asked Ricardo if he had to leave early for work, or could he take Nathan to school. I figured Piper Ann and Oliver would sleep in because they had no nap yesterday. Well, he had to be there early, so he couldn’t. It didn’t matter anyway, because they were all up at 6:30.

So we do our normal morning routine, and get ready to load up the car. “Where are my keys?” ring, ring, “Ricardo, where are my car keys?” He didn’t know. He used his own while driving my car last night. (lightbulb goes off in my head) Shoot (that’s not what I said)My dad was the last person to use my keys, and he’s leaving for Egypt today. ring ring, “Dad if you get this message, you might have my keys.” He’s fedexing them today.

So, Luckily my brothers car is in the driveway. I have to unhook all of the carseats out of the van and put them in his car. I try to be safe and squeeze them all in the backseat, but I can’t even see the buckles. So, front seat for Nathan it is. We get to school 30 minutes late, but its preschool who cares.

Earlier this week I misplaced my driver’s license. The bad part is that it was still my Michigan license and I now live in Missouri. So I take every piece of paperwork I can think of and drive over to the DMV. I explain my situation and fully expect to have to take the written test. I figure I’ll just take the book, study the consequences for DUI’s and maybe go over the signs again. No such luck. I have to get a copy of my driving record from Michigan and have it faxed to Missouri. ring ring, “I need to get a copy of my driving record faxed to Missouri.” The guy says,”You need to submit that in writing using a form from our website and we should have that back to you in 3 weeks.” “What?!!!” I proceed to ask a couple other questions of which the answer to all is no. “Thanks for your not help.”click. (I was mad, and that’s the worst thing I could come up with to say.)

I pick up the kids and storm out. As I’m driving home I hear a weird noise. I look over my shoulder and realize that Piper Ann has opened the car door and I’m going 40 MPH with the door open!

When I get home I make a few phone calls to find out that Monday morning I can go take the written and driving test to get my license sooner than 3 weeks from now. The catch is that I can’t have the kids in the car while I do this. Hotomom , We may need a playdate on Monday.

Now I just fear that I will fail!

Later this afternoon I had to break the news to Ricardo that the garage door will not open. Yeah!

I always try to look at the brightside…I have my passport so there will be nothing standing in the way of me drinking heavily when we go out for my birthday tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Ugh!.

My crappy day Happy Birthday to Me!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Char  |  January 11, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Just remember that the bad things all happen in 3’s….hopefully you’re done with the mishaps. Have fun celebrating your birthday this weekend 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Cleavermama  |  January 12, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Drink a martini for me!

    Reply
  • 3. Jen@BigBinder  |  January 12, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Oh God. Uhh, Happy Birthday?

    Reply
  • 4. adventuremom  |  January 12, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Well hopefully you have more fun drinking for your birthday 🙂 Have a Happy one!

    Reply
  • 5. Nicky  |  January 13, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Good lord!
    I hope your weekend makes up for those two beyond crappy days.

    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  • 6. hotomom  |  January 13, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    If you need me… I’ll be there…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



