Girl Night In

May 18, 2008 at 4:07 am 1 comment

Ricardo is out of town again. He gets back tomorrow and then leaves on Monday again. When he gets back Wednesday, he will have been out of town 13 days out of the last 3 weeks.

This is one of the reasons I haven’t been blogging. I’d rather not have post after post of complaints because I’ve been the sole caretaker of my children for almost 2 of the last 3 weeks.

The other reason is that I’ve been catching up on a lot of projects around the house. I would have shared them with you but my digital camera is MIA.

I decided to treat myself to a girl night in (by myself) after the hectic day I had that started out at 6:15 am. (why won’t my children sleep in ever?) I had to have Piper Ann to dance class by 8:50. We were there until 10, and then it was off to Tball for Nathan. We were late because it starts at 9:45. After Tball I rushed the kids home, because my aunt and uncle took Nathan to the Cardinals game. After we said our farewells, my sister-in-law brought her girls over for lunch and a quick jaunt down to our duck pond to feed whatever would eat our bread. (A quick side note…As far back as I can remember, my wish when I blew out candles on my birthday was for a duck pond in my back yard. I know it sounds crazy, but maybe I am. Now I loathe the mosquito breeding ground 4 houses down from us. They always say, “be careful what you wish for!”)

After they left, the remaining kids went down for a nap. I decided to mow the lawn (which I haven’t done since I was still living at home with my parents), because I didn’t want Ricardo to spend his sacred time home doing lawn maintenance. Our slightly sloped yard proved to be a little bit of a work out. I have the BO to prove it!

As we waited for Nathan to get home, I cleaned up a little bit. Then I made dinner. We ate and headed to Home Depot to get a couple of flowers and then the grocery store to get a video for the kids and myself along with a couple other indulgences.

I got myself a bottle of wine, and a small container of Dulce de Leche “light” ice cream.

After the kids ate their novelties and watched their movies, I put them to bed and enjoyed my own “girl night in.”

I rented Juno and actually really enjoyed the movie. I was afraid I’d hate it because of all the hype. I think a lot of it was the references to things in the greater Twin Cities. On my 24th birthday when I was pregnant with Nathan, Ricardo took me to the Benihana that I’m sure “Paulie’ was referring to when he was talking about prom. I also used to shop at Ridgedale Mall, but I don’t think it was really Ridgedale mall in the movie.

Lets hope the kids have pity on my and sleep until 10 tomorrow. Ya right, eh.

Entry filed under: Random.

Jesus Will Forgive You How Can You Not Laugh?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bigbinder  |  May 21, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Oh my God, I can’t believe you… mowed the lawn?!? What is going on there? How awful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



