It Had Been A While

June 4, 2008 at 1:59 pm 4 comments

…but I got up the courage to do it.

I went to the dentist yesterday. The last time I did that I was still considered a newlywed.

I decided to be brave since Nathan needed to go now that he is 5. It was pretty rough on the way over to the office, because he was afraid of getting a shot. I couldn’t let on that I too was afraid of getting a shot. (Some advice…Pick a dentist that is close to your house, or office. A twenty minute drive is a long time to psych yourself out and turn your stomach into a big jumbled gurgling mess.)

I have to tell you that it wasn’t that bad. By that I mean I didn’t bruise my fingertips by grasping onto the arms of the chair.

I think I’d still rather give birth (with an epidural) than go to the dentist, because the outcome is far more rewarding.

Unfortunately I still have to go back to clear up a few “stains” that could potentially turn into cavities. The dentist promised me it was no big deal. She’s telling this to someone who had a root canal at 2, multiple teeth pulled as a youngster, one or two “throw up on the dentist” episodes, and 7 cavities at her last check up eons ago.

I will let you know how it goes.

Entry filed under: Nathan, Random.

Project Basement Wii (Are Getting) Fit

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Silly Sister-in-law  |  June 4, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Good job for going to the dentist! I am a dental assistant for an endodontist (we do root canals), dentistry has come a long way, please do not be afraid, speak your mind at your dental office, if you do not like something, make it known. We are only there to help you:)

    Reply
  • 2. bigbinder  |  June 4, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I’m glad it went well for you. I hate the dentist, even talk of it makes me nervous. How did Nathan do?

    Reply
  • 3. thediaperdiaries  |  June 5, 2008 at 2:43 am

    I too avoid going to the dentist. I do take Lily though. Rather hypocritical of me.

    Reply
  • 4. Katrina  |  June 22, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I am embarrassed to admit that the last time I went M was a newborn. I’m feel relieved to find out there are others who put it off as badly as I do and fear it as much as I do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



