Things I Love Thursday-Old Stuff

September 11, 2008 at 2:04 pm 5 comments


I love old stuff (which drives Ricardo crazy!). I would rather have something old than something new (maybe thats why Ricardo is 6 years older than me! he he).

In my house full of furniture only 16 things have been bought brand new. Even my kitchen Island was used! We just wrapped it in beaded board and painted it to match the cabinets and voila!

We’ve been living in this house for almost 18 mos without a dining room table. I didn’t want to settle for just any “new” table ( I would have loved one from Pottery Barn, but Its a little out of my price range!), so you can imagine my excitement when I came across this…Its a round pedestal table that measures 48 inches across. It has 3 leaves, so it extends up to 7 feet long. I’m thinking of painting it white. I have 4 of these chairs to go with it and am hoping to find some chairs like this for the ends of the table.

I like to mix some modern with traditional.

I’ll keep you posted on the finish product.

For more TILT go here.

Entry filed under: Things I Love Thursday.

Works For Me Wednesday Its Not A Full Moon

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becky  |  September 11, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Great find! I LOVE the mix of chairs too. I think the modern chair will look great with the traditional table.

    Reply
  • 2. yestheyareallmine  |  September 11, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I love finding treasures in items others would just throw out. So much fun and each item also has a history and personality with it.

    Reply
  • 3. thediaperdiaries  |  September 11, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I admire your ability to turn old into cool. When I pick up something old, it just looks like trash.

    Reply
  • 4. Maria  |  September 11, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    So much for vision than I have…I typically will look at some one else’s find and say “why didn’t I think of that?” 🙂 Definitely keep us posted! Have a great one!

    Reply
  • 5. mom_of2boys  |  September 11, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    What a great find! I’d love to be able to turn old things into nice usable items. I try…it doesn’t always work though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



