Hobby Hump Day-Patchwork Bulletin Board Tutorial

October 8, 2008 at 12:41 am 1 comment

This is my first tutorial, so bear with me.

I Started with this old bulletin board… Its a little warped on top, but it doesn’t bother me.

I painted the frame pink…

I took a bunch of green and pink fabrics and made this patchwork with them…

I then sprayed the cork with spray adhesive as well as the backside of the patchwork. After I covered the cork with the patchwork, I started in the center and smoothed it out.

After everything was smooth, I trimmed off the excess…

To hide the raw edge I made some cording.

I started off with strips about 1 to 1 1/2″ wide… I used my zipper foot to sew the cording… (You’ll want to start heating up your glue gun) I trimmed the excess fabric from the cording…(sorry its blurry)

Put a bead of hot glue where the fabric meets the frame, but be sure to leave a little tail…Continue to glue on the rest of the cording. Make sure to really take care around the corners. Don’t put on too much glue, because it will ooze everywhere. Leave another tail at the other end.

(This is where it would be easier for me to show you rather than tell you, but I’ll try)

Open up one end of the cording, by carefully cutting away some of the seam…

Snip off the white cording that’s poking out…

Cut the other tail so the two ends of cording match up perfectly…

Fold over excess fabric… (I took this picture before I clipped off the other tail..sorry.)

Wrap it around the other end of cording…

Stick a bead of glue under it, and this is what it should look like…

Voila!

What? Don’t sew? You could take a big piece of fabric and glue it to the surface. They make really cute trims to match any decor. Just glue it around the edges. I’d love to see how yours turns out.

Now its your turn to play…

Entry filed under: Hobby Hump Day, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Vacation Recap…Part 2 Works For Me Wednesday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen@BigBinder  |  October 9, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I think I’ll take the glue route 🙂 I am trying to make a doll. Seriously. I’m embarassed at how bad it is already and I haven’t even gotten far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



