Its Been A While

January 28, 2009 at 8:42 pm 5 comments

You know they say, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything.”

That’s why I’ve been on hiatus. I’m sure you people have better things to read than my pain, urinating and bowel problems.

I’m feeling a lot better and can almost comfortably sit at the desk chair without an egg crate. (its the small things)

As most of you know, I had to have a bladder sling put in as well as vaginoplasty (don’t google it, because the pictures aren’t pretty. Its basically putting everything where it should be). It was pretty major surgery that landed me an extra 2 days in the hospital, because they hit an artery and I was peeing blood.

The last few days out of the hospital I’ve been retraining my bladder how to empty on its own. In the meantime I have to fully empty my bladder through a superpubic catheter. Basically it serves the same function as a urethral catheter but its connected to my bladder through a man made hole in my abdomen. Sounds lovely, eh? Its not, and we will never be friends.

I’m actually really close to getting it removed. Thank goodness. The kids can’t sit on my lap because of the catheter and I also can’t hold them, because I can’t lift more than 10 lbs for the next month. I hate not being able to cuddle with them.

I’m so glad to have happier pain freer days coming up! I can’t wait to be able to drive next week!

Oh, and if you were wondering…Milk of Magnesia (although absolutely disgusting) works wonders against those constipating narcotics:)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Buggie Lou Valentine Baskets

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hotomom  |  January 28, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Pooping is awesome, glad it helped – oh and I will never ever be able to erase the image of your “superpubic catheter”, thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ I came home and told JT all about it, I am sure he appreciates me sharing.

    Glad you are doing better. I think my mom, meem and I are coming by on Friday. Mom and Meem want to bring you a meal. I’ll let you know for sure.

    Reply
  • 2. thediaperdiaries  |  February 2, 2009 at 2:10 am

    Holy crap Olivia. What a crazy surgery and recovery. Glad you are starting to be on the mend. If you were closer I would bring you food πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. carol  |  February 10, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    so… the surgery didn’t go so well…so sorry about that.

    Reply
  • 4. Jackie  |  February 22, 2009 at 8:00 am

    See…still using Outreach! WTG!!! Seriously, glad that you’re feeling better.

    Reply
  • 5. 2009 Recap « 3inunder3  |  January 2, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    […] *I celebrated my 30th birthday *We celebrated Oliver’s 3rd birthday. * I had surgery […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



