New Planters

May 18, 2009 at 9:45 pm 2 comments

My front stoop was in need of a little extra something. Something with a little height as well.
I’ve seen this idea in magazines before, so I thought I’d give it a try
dscn1136
I wanted to take pictures of my step by step process, but of course my camera battery was dead… both of them.
I had the large pots on the bottom. They’re fiberglass and were originally a light gray color. I primed and painted those pots along with 4 other terra cotta pots black to go with my new door mat and other planters in the front. Plus, I think it makes the colors really pop.

I filled the large planters with plastic containers and soda cans from my recycling bins to fill some of the space. Then I filled them with potting soil up to the top.

Next I stuck a dowel rod into the center of the pot all the way to the bottom. I took a terra cotta pot and inverted it and slipped it over the dowel rod. The next terra cotta pot was slipped over the dowel rod right side up so it butted up to the previous pot.

dscn1137

dscn1138

Now I just need a new door with a window and a wooden screen door!

Entry filed under: Decorating.

Sidewalk Sale Hobby Humpday- New-Old Medicine Cabinet

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  May 18, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    they turned out great!

    Reply
  • 2. hotomom  |  May 19, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Very very cute, they look fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



