Mellowing

October 2, 2009 at 12:25 am 2 comments

My friend Nicole just did a post on this today, so I thought I’d add to it…

Before I had kids I swore they would never wear clothes with characters on them.

I also swore they would never own shoes that light up. We’ve actually only crossed paths with one pair, but we now have shirts that light up.

Homemade Halloween costumes were also a musthave. I swore I would never buy the crappy, but expensive, kind from party stores. They have come a long way since I was a kid, though.

Of course all that has gone by the wayside. The more characters the better. Now my kids study the Halloween magazines that we get in the paper or the mail to decide what they’ll be this year. Luckily grandpa funded them!

Today I finally gave in to my last “I swear I would never…,”

I bought a blow up Halloween decoration for the yard.

Ricardo is going to take the kids for a night to the in-laws. When they get home, I’ll be surprising them with a blow up haunted house and gravestones in the garden! I’ll try and post pictures.

I still have one thing I will never give in to…the orange leafbags with jack-o-lantern faces on them. I especially hate them when they’re still out at Christmastime, because the yardwaste collection has either stopped or they won’t take leaves in plastic bags!

Entry filed under: Random.

Fill In the Blanks Spaceship

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  October 2, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Oh no; you didn’t!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  October 2, 2009 at 1:37 am

    hahahaha…i can’t WAIT to see this!

    i’m right there with you…still not a fan of character tees (unless they’re junkfood ones or the old navy knockoffs) and hate light up shoes. mercifully, there has only been one pair of those in our house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



