New Cabinet

March 26, 2010 at 7:22 am 2 comments

A few weeks ago as I dropped off Piper Ann at school, I noticed this cabinet in someones trash. I drove by it, checked it out and drove away. A few thoughts ran through my head, “how will I get it in the car?” “what will I do with it?” How will I fix it up?”

I didn’t have solid answers for those questions, so I just let it go. Of course I thought about it for the next 4 hours and came up with the answers to those questions. I had to have it. When I picked up PA from school, one of the mom’s (thanks again Heidi!) helped me load it up.

Once again here is the before picture…

It started with some sort of trim thing around the top. I thought it looked cool, but it would be far more functional to have a flat top, so I removed it.

I figured I’d either use it as a sideboard in the dining room, or in Piper Ann’s room for toy storage. Since she got a new dresser, I used her old dresser as a sideboard in the dining room and decided to put the cabinet in her room for storage.
I did paint it a color that could go in either room, though.

I painted it aqua blue.

I stole these acrylic knobs off of the original purple dresser.

I sprayed the hinges and screws chrome.

All her toys fit nicely inside.

I got these projects done just in time to free up space in the garage for a car that doesn’t exist anymore!

Update on Mallory… we’re waiting to see if someone wants to buy her for parts. If not, we’ll just donate her. I took Ricardo’s car, a Jeep Commander, and he got a new car that he got a really good deal on. As cool as I didn’t feel driving a mini van. The convenience was unbeatable. Where I make up in coolness now, I definitely lose in convenience!

Entry filed under: Decorating.

Updated Dresser From Disheveled Little Girls Room…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bigbinder  |  March 27, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    You are amazing. I hope you know that.

    Reply
  • 2. Midwest Cottage  |  October 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    So adorable and amazing storage! I’d love to have something that large and useful in my son’s room for toys! Smart find!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



