Bedtime Instructions Sign Tutorial

May 18, 2010 at 7:15 am 6 comments

Every night when its bedtime I tell the kids “head upstairs, potty, jammies, brush teeth.”
To fill a blank spot over the toilet in their new  bathroom, I came up with this sign…

You’ll need a scrap piece of wood. Mine is left over from the towel rack in the bathroom.
Vinyl letters from an office supply store.

Primer

Spray paint

chain (have this cut to length for you. I learned the hard way.)

“S” hooks

eye hooks

Piece of scrap wood

I cut it into 3 not so equal parts.

Spray primed them. Then painted them all white.

Then I affixed the vinyl letters to spell out “potty,” “jammies,” “brush teeth.”

I sprayed over two of the boards with orange spray paint and one with red spray paint.

When its thoroughly dry, peel off the vinyl letters. (don’t be impatient like me or you’ll end up with a mess like this.)

Because the “P” was messed up, I decided to outline the letters in black and then distress the boards with sandpaper. Once again be patient or you’ll end up with a giant black smear across the board.

Evenly space out eye hooks to the top of the bottom board, and the bottom and tops of the other two boards. I didn’t use “s” hooks. I just pried open the first link of each piece of chain. That was a lot harder than I thought it would be. The chain kept breaking.

I hung it from a hook screwed to the wall.

Entry filed under: Crafts, Uncategorized.

Picnic Blanket Collaberation

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JenD  |  May 18, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Just stumbled upon your blog and I love it. This is an AWESOME idea! I love it!

    Reply
  • 2. wic  |  May 19, 2010 at 4:37 am

    I am working on something similar. it`f for the mornings, about the things that need to be done before kindergarten.
    love your version.

    Reply
  • 3. bloggers mania  |  May 19, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Found the information worthy as I had no idea of posting a comment on the blog,.I keep seeing articles like these.

    Reply
  • 4. bigbinder  |  May 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    This is really cool, I love ‘routines’ and having it visual like this. I’m going to (try and) Stumble it.

    Reply
  • 5. Me Gusto! « Big Binder  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    […] clever and inventive 3inunder3 made a very cute “Bedtime Instructions Sign”, and included step-by-step instructions in […]

    Reply
  • 6. Brooks Ludwig  |  May 28, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Hah am I honestly the first comment to your great read?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



