Petit Fours

November 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm 1 comment

We did an Eloise at the Plaza themed birthday party for Piper Ann since Eloise is 6 and Piper Ann was turning 6.

Instead of making a cake, I decided to try my hand at making petit fours. I used this recipe, but decided to cut up pound cake instead of baking my own to save time.

All the ingredients waiting to be melted over a double boiler.

All melted and ready to be poured.

And Voila!

I jumped on the mini banner bandwagon.

 

Ok, obviously I’m kidding…When I poured on the frosting it turned into a goopy mess that wouldn’t pour evenly. It cooled before it would cover the cake. I tried thinning the frosting, but that didn’t work. However, the petit fours I got from the bakery weren’t completely covered either. In fact on most of them just the tops were covered. I wasn’t super impressed which made the $1/piece price tag even harder to justify.

Entry filed under: Cooking.

Bag Swap Inspirations

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen @ BigBinder  |  November 19, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I had to read the first line about 13 times before my brain could make sense of it. Meh, whatever. There was cake, and frosting. The details are hardly important – I’m sure they were a hit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



