Works for Me Wednesday-Shade Planters

May 20, 2009 at 12:41 pm 5 comments

We’ve got two giant oak trees in our backyard that provide us with the much appreciated shade.

However, it doesn’t allow for much creativity in the gardening department. Anything that requires full sun will not survive on the deck.  Most annuals that you’d put in a planter require full sun.

I’ve been experimenting over the last two years with what works in the backyard.  I’ve had success with some safe bets like caladiums, Impatiens, begonias, and even sweet potato vine works well.

Some advice when doing some container gardening is having something that gives height, something that drapes along the side of the pot, and something to fill in the middle.

Here’s what I have for some containers this year…

dscn1211 I decided to go with purple green and white for the containers on the deck this year.

I’ve got some Dracaena Spikes for height, purple Impatiens for filler, and Alyssum and Purple Heart for some draping down the side.

I’ll keep you updated as to how it fills out.

Entry filed under: Gardening, Works for me Wednesday.

Hobby Humpday- New-Old Medicine Cabinet Teacher Gifts

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    These tips are very timely for me: I plan to visit the garden center today, and I was undecided about what to plant in my containers. My space is sunny, but your design concepts are just what I need. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. *~Michelle~*  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Oh I love how this looks…….off to the local nursery!

    Reply
  • 3. kristen @ PajamaMama  |  May 20, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    We’re thinking alike….i have planters that look VERY similar, and do well in sun! if i can, i’m going to try to link my post to this one..i’ve never seen wandering jew potted before…i’ll have to try it-i’m doing the green/purple theme too!

    Reply
  • 4. Jerri  |  May 20, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    See, if I had shade I would plant tons of impatiens. They’re my favorites. Alas, I have only full sun!

    I bet your planters will look lovely as they grow.

    Reply
  • 5. Niki  |  May 20, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I have the opposite problem..too little shade. Our old place was shady and we had impatiens which thrived and grew giant!

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed