Lego Cake

May 22, 2008 at 12:49 pm 5 comments

I finally found my digital camera, so I thought I’d share some stuff with you.

I got this idea off of the internet for Nathan’s birthday cake. He really wanted this cake, but it was a little ambitious for my 2 hour time limit.
He had to settle for my really amateur version of a lego cake.
I started by baking a 9×13 cake. After it cooled I cut it into thirds. One of the thirds I cut in half. I transferred the pieces to a foil lined baking sheet. It took a lot of red and blue food coloring to make the icing a vibrant lego color. My cutting board still has stains on it.
After the cakes were iced, I found the roundest big marshmallows in the bag and cut them in half. After that I iced them and stuck them on the top of the cakes. It was really messy, but I didn’t have time to smooth it out very well. I put the left over icing in a piping bag and wrote “Nathan” is 5!
I also made a set of pink and purple legos for my cousins daughter.

Entry filed under: Nathan, Projects/ideas.

How Can You Not Laugh? Project Basement

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Char  |  May 23, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    MMMMM…..gooey frosted cake with marshmallows – sounds like a 5 year old’s dream cake if you ask me.

    Reply
  • 2. adventuremom  |  May 24, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Super cool! You are so darn creative!

    Reply
  • 3. bigbinder  |  May 28, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    A.P. is totally excited about this cake, and that he gets to see what Nathan’s cake looked like.

    Reply
  • 4. Project Basement « 3inunder3  |  May 30, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    […] Who Am I? Lego Cake […]

    Reply
  • 5. Denigrate  |  June 19, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation šŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Denigrate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



