Blackberry Tarts

August 5, 2009 at 1:45 pm 2 comments

My friend and her family went blackberry picking at Eckerts last weekend. I was so jealous by her loot that I went to the local Eckerts outlet and picked up some of my own.

dscn1391

I should have put a quarter next to one of the berries so you could see just how huge they are.

The kids wouldn’t eat them raw, so I found this recipe from Martha Stewart.

Obviously I used blackberries instead of blueberries. The recipe called for 2 cups of blueberries, but I only needed 24 blackberries…one for each cup. (I writing this post with a 3 year old jumping on my back. My apologies)

The crust is divine and I didn’t/wouldn’t change anything about it.

I just sprinkled the 24 blackberries with a little lemon juice, sugar, and instant tapioca (I didn’t have cornstarch).

dscn1392

Next time I would maybe use a little more sugar for the filling. The crust is pretty sweet, so the tart berries really set it off.

dscn1394 Seriously huge blackberries.

dscn1395

After I brought them out of the oven, the blackberries were still whole. I just used the butt end of a knife to smash them up a bit. The were fine once they cooled.

dscn1396I’ll have to make another batch. They were gone pretty fast! Its amazing what a little fat and sugar can do for fruit!

Entry filed under: Cooking.

CD Holders Felt Flowers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thediaperdiaries  |  August 5, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Dangit I wish you lived closer!!

    Reply
  • 2. Deanna  |  August 5, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Did you go out and buy the mini muffin pan too?

    I never did make anything out of our 7 pounds. We’ve been enjoying them so much that we don’t want to “waste” them in baked goods.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



